Do you print additional copies upon request?

skidz7
I'm relatively new to the scene but I've run into this situation a few times. We have an open air style "booth" and print a single 4x6 copy of each frame onsite. Recently we did an event where we had a lot of people wanting duplicates of the prints. "ooh can you print me another one of this?"
In most cases I will do it for them, but sometimes we have people coming through the booth at such a rapid rate that the guests end up waiting a minute or two for their photos (each takes about 30 seconds for processing/printing). I don't like the idea of delaying other guests because some want additional copies.
Any of you run into this? and how do you typically handle it? I've thought about some signage indicating that we'll print one copy of each photo, etc. I suspect that getting my system more automated would help too.

Comments

• 33 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Mike
    I do not. I will occasionally run duplicates for the bridal party, but rarely.
  • Soundsations
    No additional copies here either. I remind them prints are available as a free download from our hosting site.....and tell them they are welcome to get back in line for another go-around.
  • Unknown
    Generally not, but if its not busy i will. If it's busy, i'll ask them to come back after or go to my hosting site to download them
  • catchphotobooths
    I upsell that option. But 30 seconds seems like a long time for processing.
  • necheez
    Usually, no. We give a copy to everyone in the picture, but everyone else will have to see it online.
  • Soundsations
    I always give the option for double prints...2 4x6's or 4 strips for $100 extra. More than covers the media and and practically pays for another whole case!
  • Mike
    Same, but mine is $25/hr.
    @necheez how many prints do you do at an event? I would burn through 2 or 3 rolls if I did what you are doing.
  • Soundsations