Employee wages

mfphoto
I did a few searches on here and did not find anything on this topic.

I have had my photo booth business going on 3 years. I have 3-4 individuals who work for me. They are people i personally know.

For a 4 hour rental I pay $100. If there is idle time, they get $15 (and usually a really nice meal at the reception when invited by the couple). They have to pick up the booth, setup, run it, tear it down and return it to me within 2 days. I feel that $100 is more than fair (I figure they maybe have 7 hours into it for a local event. Although it should be less).

That being said, I have a employee who wants $140-$150 to work a 4 hour event, or one who thinks they should get $25/hour including local travel, setup & tear down. One did a 2 hour event and gets paid $70 (I add $15 for each additional hour worked) and says it isn't worth it. My employees know nothing about photography (I am a professional photographer for over 20 years.)

What are you paying your employees? Looking for some honest discussion here.

Comments

• 27 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Mike
    I pay $25-35 depending on the individual and the duration. I also give the $0.50/mile for travel from my location, I do not pay them mileage to get to me. So a typical 4 hour event that is say 20 miles from my location would cost me $100 - $140 + $20 (40 miles round trip).
  • Unknown
    Don't let your employees see this, but I have a guy I pay $35/hour. I pay him 3hours over the length of the event, so it gets expensive. On the other hand, I usually only do one event per day, myself, and I only need him when I either accidentally overbook or have a family obligation that I can't or don't want to get out of. I also never send him far out of town, so I don't pay mileage.