Bridal Expos & Wedding Shows

hippielo28
hippielo28
Hi Fellow Boothers!

I was curious what kind of success you have had from signing up as a Vendor at Bridal Expos/Wedding Shows. I'm considering signing up for Columbus Bride Magazine's Expo that is held in January. Aside from bookings, I'd also like to do it for networking purposes, since I am so new to the industry. However, I have heard mixed reviews on Bridal Shows, with the consensus saying that they can be 'hit or miss'. I'm not sure I can take that kind of risk cause the booth fee is upwards of $2000 or so. I would feel a lot better about making that kind of investment if I were more confident that it would pay off. Can anyone tell me about their experiences at various bridal shows & any other feedback they might have. Thanks so much!!

Thanks!

Comments

• LorneChesal
    LorneChesal
    My experience has been only as a wedding photographer, not a photo booth provider.

As a wedding photographer, I will never spend the $$ to be in a show where there are no limits on a category of vendor. ie: photographers. The last show I was in had a total of 90 vendors, of which 22 were photographers. Since most shows in my area will take your $$ if you offer it, I don't do shows any more. There was one "boutique" show that has started up with only 3 of each vendor type in it and is very well received. Sadly, it's run by a photographer, so he won't accept me.

So... be sure to understand how many other booths will be there. If there are a bunch, be sure to distinguish your self in some meaningful way. If you don't, the brides will only think of price and that's not likely how you will grow your business.

Have you had paying clients yet? If so, see if some of those brides will stand in your booth and sing your praises. That can be very effective. They aren't salesman, at least overtly. Brides trust one another.

They can be hit and miss. Absolutely true. Be memorable!
  • Mike
    Mike